The 5 day rock streak is over

Never before have I been to concerts five days in a row, not even at a festival. But here in San Francisco everything is possible. It's the city where all the bands I've been dying to see for a long time are playing.

Thursday: The Hold Steady
One of the todays best rock bands is said to be one of the best live bands, and after seeing them at The Fillmore I can only insist. The lead singer Craig Finn is one of the most charismatic persons I've seen in a long time. He looks like a pastor from where he's standing in the spot light, constantly reaching out his spastic arms towards the crowd, dancing like a fag, with the biggest smile on his face. It's impossible not to love him. Even if acclaimed keybordist Franz Nicolay has left the band, The Hold Steady's beer soaked party rock still feels intact. The crowd was on fire all the time, jumping, clapping and cheering, and when songs like Chips Ahoy and Constructive Summer came on I couldn't think of a better place to be. The Hold Steady forever!

Friday: Fang Island
Red Sparowes was the main act, but their heavy post rock made me jawn after seeing the young boys in Fang Island rock the shit out of their guitars. Like a mix of Explosions In The Sky's grandiosity and Vampire Weekend's playfulness.

Saturday: Drive-By Truckers
This gig should've been a really good one. I mean, it was sold out, so I went there to try to buy a ticket from someone outside the venue. Waited 40 minutes without success. Decided to go to another gig. Biked halfway through the city, just to get there and find out there wasn't any gig. So, I biked all the way back to The Fillmore. When I got there, the first people I asked had a ticket for me! And I got it for free!!! I was so so happy. Unfortunately the show wasn't that great. The band didn't have the same favorite song as I do, and they only played one song(!) I knew. Cool stage props though.

Sunday: Fucked Up
The question is if Mr Damien (the main singer in Fucked Up who's also called Pink Eyes) doesn't beat The Hold Steady's Craig Finn when it comes to charisma. Physically it's a given. He's fatter than Svullo, but obviously not to fat for a shag (He has a son(only one of the interesting thing's he revealed during his outstanding in between talks(?))). He looks so fuckin' bad ass but are the most humble guy ever. The crowd loves him, and in between all the crazy moshing (it's hard to resist moshing to Fucked Up's music) everyone wants to clap his giant belly (which Mr Damien seems to love). Fucked Up isn't just super awesome thank's to their front man and his profound lyrics, they creates the most interesting hardcore today - melodic brutality with an overhanging compact atmosphere that's hard to match. Fucked Up forever!
And yes, after the show Mr Damien lifted me up and gave me the the biggest sweatiest hug I've ever had.

Monday: Alexisonfire
After seeing Fucked Up the night before, Alexisonfire's hardcore seemed kinda silly. I was very tired and stood back and watched all the youngsters running around, hitting each other in the moshpit. The band sure had some energy though and played all of my favorite songs.

Kommentarer
Postat av: Anonym

Kul med lite Pappamusik bland popsnörena du varvar med. Rock on !

2010-05-12 @ 23:28:00

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0