Keg stands and basement gigs

Things have really started to happening over here. Last week included three parties, lots of new phone numbers and more work on my shoulders. I have two deadlines coming up in the beginning of this week. I even needed to step in today to finish some work. Not the funniest way to spend a day when the sun is shining outside and you're hung over from last nights wine soaked party. But hey, at least I got some sun yesterda. Awesome weather and a trip to the beautiful Marina area.



Friday was interesting indeed. Goodbye party at work. Two people became "freelancers" (The kind way to firing someone). Mekanism sure knows how to party. Starting at 4 pm, with a bartender who made awesome Maragaritas. Then the kegs arrived and people started performing keg stands. At this point the only contact I've had with a keg was via high school movies. To see one IRL really felt TRUE AMERICAN.



One CEO after another stepped forward to be lifted upside down and get beer poored down (or up) their throats. Just before I left, my creative director draged the keg into the elevator. And as the elevator went down he shouted "ELEVATOR KEG STAND!" and performed a kegstand, in the elevator. CRAZY SHIT! Then they all went into the sound room, going berzerk on the drum set and the guitars. Didn't sound that bad actually.

For me the night also ended with music. Just before I left Sweden I found a band called Hard Girls, which released an awesome EP last year. This night they played in Oakland, at a place called The Hive, so I descided to take the train there. When I arrived at the right adress, this is what I saw:



Could this be right? A gig in a house?

Three smoking dudes welcomed me. And yep, this was the right place! The people in the house is making room in the basement (someones bedroom) for small bands who's touring. The shows are all free and you are welcome into the house. To see a really good band perform in a 20 square meter large room in someones basement with an audience of 30 people sure is an awesome and unique experience. After the gig I ended up talking to the band for an hour or so. Really fun guys who's got some great potential. They've allready warmed up for big punk bands like Against Me! and is starting to get a lot of publicity and good reviews in media.

Good luck guys! Nice meeting ya!


Kommentarer
Postat av: Paps

Låter som en kul helg.

2010-02-01 @ 14:20:04
Postat av: Lars Hallén

Craaaazy shit... haha sup inte ner dig för mycket bara kompis! :)

2010-02-02 @ 10:11:14
URL: http://blogg.larshallen.com

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0