top 3 - the most anticipated video games of 2010

Last year I really stated to question gaming as one of my biggest hobbies, after being kinda addicted for most of my life. I started to feel I didn't get that much in return, started to feel that I wasted my time with nonsense.  As a matter of fact I did barely play any video games at all during my time at Hyper Island. When I flew to the states I left my Xbox 360 back in Sweden, of course, and I haven't been playing video games ever since (some Rock Band sessions doesn't really count).

But now, the urge and hunger has returned. I'm finding my self browsing tons and tons of different video game sites every day. There's SO many good games being released and so many anticipated ones arriving later this year. Stories and experiences that simply look to good to miss.

Here's my top 3:

3. Alan Wake



One of the most delayed and pushed back games of all time is finally about to be released this May. Remedy, who's famous for their excellent Max Payne games, was more than halfway through the production of Alan Wake when they decided to get rid of what they had and start over. Alan Wake has gone from being a open world horror adventure to a more straight forward and episode based action horror experience. Hopefully it's for the better. The story of the writer Alan Wake who's getting haunted by his worst nightmares when trying to settle down in a small Twin Peaks looking village is still - by the latest video to judge - looking more thrilling and more graphically advanced than almost every game out there.


2. The Last Guardian




When Ico was released on Playstation 2 in 2001 something happened. Critics and especially those who hadn't seen video games as something profound started to talk about video games as something bigger, something almost more philosophical, something that deserved to have its own columns in the most fashionable magazines. With Ico video games finally got accepted as an own art form. I had been moved and touched by video games before (I cried during the ending scene of Final Fantasy X for example) but there was definitely something very touching about Ico, maybe because of the relationship created between me (a banished boy with horns) and the trapped and weak girl Yorda. We couldn't understand each others languages, but we both understood we needed to collaborate to be able to escape from the fortress that held us prisoners. I grabbed her by hand and led her because she was to weak to walk by herself. I defended her, swung my wooden stick against dark shadow creatures trying to pull Yorda down into their dark portals. She was able to open up locked gates with some magic powers I didn't have. In the end I got so emotionally overwhelmed that I couldn't hold back my tears.


Ico


Shadow of the Colossus

Team Ico then released Shadow of the Colossus, a game where you needed to climb and defeat giant creatures in order to bring the girl you loved back to life. A truly amazing and epic game, which also focused on collaboration. Only this time around you had your horse Agro by your side, Without him you wouldn't had a chance defeating the giants.

In their upcoming game The Last Guardian, you once again have a partner -  some weird giant creature that looks like a cross breed between a rat and a bird. Something tells me that the bound between the boy and the creature will result in one of the most emotional games this world has ever seen, and it looks like t's combining the best parts from both Ico and Shadow of the Colossus.


1. Red Dead Redemption




Rockstar have everything that comes with the term "rockstar". Ever since they released Gran Theft Auto 3 in 2001 they've been giving everyone the finger, always doing whatever they felt like doing, no mather how controversial the subjects they're building their games upon may be. The key to their success, accept their boldness, is their great understanding of American popculture and the American society.

Red Dead Redemption may not have as many automatic machine guns to shoot, radio stations to listen to or shiny cars to steal as in Grand Theft Auto 4. Of course not, since the clock is turned back to the wild wild west. Instead it has lasso's to swing, wild animals to hunt and dirty horses to ride. It's said to be Rockstar's most ambitious game yet, with a massive open world to explore, an immersive story and tons of western stuff to do.
I haven't been longing for a game this hard since Grand Theft Auto 4. Give it to me - NOW!!!    



Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0