smørrebrød bonanza

Got invited to a danish dinner at Maja's co worker Andrea's place outside Okaland. Lots and lots of fish filled sandwiches and booze in various variations were consumed during some of the friendliest hours I've had in San Francisco so far. Most of the dinner i spent talking to Andreas husbands old father.

If it's one thing I love doing it is to sit and listen to old peoples life stories. Sometimes the're so engaging and spellbinding that it feels like I'm a kid again listening to a fairy tail with full concentration to not miss a single word. The same thing when I was working at Apoteket (the Swedish pharmacy) a couple of years ago. I worked with customer support where I assisted people who called for their medicines. Most of the time it was old people who called, and unfortunately they were mostly bitter and angry. But sometimes the old just called to talk, because they didn't have anyone else to talk to, I guess. I loved these calls, not only because I got some relaxing pauses from the serious and boring work. Mostly the old actually had very thrilling stuff to tell and the more I asked the more stuff I got in return. Since they had lived for a long time they had a lot of memories to share. Sometimes very sad, sometimes hillarious - as life is in general.

Andrea's husband's father told me stories about the second world war, about being on the run as a 11 year old, about bird watching, about catching giant mussles under water. I just sat there, eating all the delicious food, and enjoyed every single second.







Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0